A Mother’s Love

“Mama was my greatest teacher, a teacher of compassion, love and fearlessness. If love is sweet as a flower, then my mother is that sweet flower of love. ” -Stevie Wonder

Thanks, mom

For the roses without thorns.

All the joy and appreciation you’ve given

Shall not be forgotten, sticking with me till the day I die

Is there really any way to truly thank you?

You’ve gone above and beyond

Filled societies role and then made its cup overfill with love and compassion

From countless nights spent awake consoling me on my fears

days spent supporting me to do my best

but not holding my hand too tight when I faced my challenges

Helped me realize my emotions,

what’s good and bad

taught me to laugh, cook, and watch Curious George.

 

The sacrifices you’ve made for me are as numerous as stars in the sky

(well, not really, but you get the point)

All your quips that made me laugh

Efforts to make sure your food wouldn’t disappoint

Fought against me for the better choice

But I am so glad you did

Because you taught me to respect

And even though I never realized it

You were right.

(bet you’re gonna rub that line in for a while)

 

So thanks mom,

For everything.

A mothers love is more precious than any jewel you can spend your entire love looking for. For one, all a jewel can do is sit on a shelf, ring, or some other thing to show off, while a mother will constantly care for you and actually do something. It’s not something you have to mine for, it’s just given, and is very rarely taken back. It’s something we take for granted, we become so desensitized to this wonderful thing that it every act seems like just a thing we’re entitled to.

Mothers day is a day to reflect on this, undo the normalized love and appreciate it as if it was a jewel you just uncovered. Recall sweet memories of you and your mom. Like watching Curious George while banana bread bakes in the oven on her day off.

Thanks, mom. Love you!

-Jimmy

https://giphy.com/gifs/weird-robot-88MTD1qE0zdIY

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *